chit chat

Switzerland is an exceedingly beautiful country.

Every time I see the Alps in the distance from my window, walk through the forest, run past happy looking cows in the fields on my morning runs or swim in the lake one hundred metres from our house I think how lucky I am.

But there is a downside, and it’s not just those times I simply can’t understand what someone is saying, or when the distance between my small family and loved ones back in Australia seems just too great. (I’m not even thinking of those times when it’s so damn cold I can hardly force myself to get out and run past the aforementioned cows.)

As a research student, what I really miss is the chit chat that’s normally part and parcel of doing a  major piece of research. The casual conversation between researchers that lets you know you’re not the only one (there are other fools out there), the opportunity to run ideas past someone else or to hear some much needed words of wisdom from someone who has been there, too, and has the experience and knowledge to prove it. I also miss strolling into a library and flicking through books instead of relying on my best telepathic skills to see if it’s worth my while (and the expense) to order a book. I’d also like to be able to sit down with my supervisor over a cup of coffee instead of just via Skype.

Hey ho. It’s my choice to do it this way, and I’m sure I’m not the only one.

Hello? Anybody out there??

cow

Leave a Reply

